• The Hellenic Institute, Royal Holloway, University of London – Events 2017/18

    You are warmly invited to the following academic activities and public events co-organised by The Hellenic Institute at Royal Holloway, University of London in the present academic year that we celebrate the25th Anniversary since its establishment (1993).   18 October 2017: Ninth Annual Memorial for Julian Chrysostomides The Holy Church of Apostle Barnabas, The “Apostle […]

  • Τιμητική διάκριση στον καθηγητή Μ. Γ. Βαρβούνη.

    Το Institute of Ethnography της Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts (ЕТНОГРАФСКОГ ИНСТИТУТА – СРПСКЕ АКАДЕМИЈЕ НАУКА И УМЕТНОСТИИЗ БЕОГРАДА, РЕПУБЛИКА СРБИЈА) τίμησε στις 6 Οκτωβρίου 2017, στο Βελιγράδι, τον καθηγητή Λαογραφίας και Πρόεδρο του Τμήματος Ιστορίας και Εθνολογίας του Δημοκρίτειου Πανεπιστημίου Θράκης, κύριο Μ. Γ. Βαρβούνη, με τον τίτλο “Honorary Research Fellow”, την ανώτατη τιμητική διάκριση που απονέμουν τα Ινστιτούτα […]

  • ‘The Small World, the Great!’ A Tribute to the Poet Odysseus Elytis with music by George Couroupos

    A celebration of the Nobel Prize winner Presented under the auspices of the H. R. President of the Hellenic Republic Mr. Prokopios Pavlopoulos. The bold, lyrical work of poet Odysseus Elytis (1911–1996) is brought to life in readings and song, with live music by one of the most outstanding living Greek composers, George Couroupos, written […]

  • Update: Koraes Professor of Modern Greek and Byzantine History, Language and Literature

    UPDATE: The advertisement has now been updated with some additional information and a later closing date here: http://www.jobs.ac.uk/job/BDZ629/koraes-professor-of-modern-greek-and-byzantine-history-language-and-literature This has been made possible by generous external donations, matched by the College’s continuing financial commitment to this historic Chair, which will celebrate the centenary of its establishment in 2018. More on the appeal and the response […]

  • Μιχάλης Σετάτος (1929-2017)

    Η Ευρωπαϊκή Εταιρεία Νεοελληνικών Σπουδών με βαθιά θλίψη πληροφορεί ότι πέθανε σήμερα, 3 Ιουλίου 2017, και κηδεύεται αύριο στις 5.30 μ.μ., από τον Ιερό Ναό Αγίου Γεωργίου Πανοράματος στη Θεσσαλονίκη ο κορυφαίος γλωσσολόγος Μιχάλης Σετάτος, Ομότιμος Καθηγητής του Αριστοτέλειου Πανεπιστημίου Θεσσαλονίκης και μέλος του Διοικητικού Συμβουλίου του Ινστιτούτου Νεοελληνικών Σπουδών (Ιδρύματος Μανόλη Τριανταφυλλίδη). Παραθέτουμε το ψήφισμα […]

  • Willem J. Aerts (1926-2017)

    Στις 8 Φεβρουαρίου 2017 απεβίωσε, πλήρης ημερών, ο Willem J. Aerts, ομότιμος καθηγητής της Μεσαιωνικής και Νέας Ελληνικής Φιλολογίας του Πανεπιστημίου του Χρόνιγκεν (Groningen) της Ολλανδίας. Ο Άαρτς γεννήθηκε το 1926 στο Άμστερνταμ, όπου και σπούδασε κλασική φιλολογία και έλαβε το πτυχίο του το 1951. Από το 1955 έως το 1967 δίδαξε αρχαία ελληνικά και […]

  • 2017 Runciman book prize: Short list announced

    he short list for the 2017 Runciman Award was announced today by the Anglo-Hellenic League on behalf of the judges. The books from which the winner will be selected are:- Democracy Paul Cartledge Oxford University Press Landscape, Nature and the Sacred in Byzantium Veronica della Dora Cambridge University Press Epigram, Art and Devotion in Later […]

  • European Cultural Center of Delphi–Delphi Academy of European Studies

    The Delphi Academy of European Studies focuses on the diachronic and synchronic study of European history and culture and the ways in which Europe today responds to the multifaceted challenges of political, economic, and cultural globalization. The curriculum and academic function of the Delphi Academy of European Studies is overseen by an international Committee consisting […]

  • 2. Gunnar Hering Lectures

    Das Institut für Byzantinistik und Neogräzistik der Universität Wien und die Österreichische Gesellschaft für Neugriechische Studien laden herzlichst zur 2. Gunnar Hering Lectures am Dienstag, 25. April 2017, 18:00 Uhr ein. Es spricht: Dr. Efi Avdela (Universität Kreta) „When Juvenile Delinquency Became an International Post War Concern: The United Nations, the Council of Europe and […]

  • Προκήρυξη για το βραβείο στη μνήμη του Παναγιώτη Μουλλά

    Βραβείο στη μνήμη του Παναγιώτη Μουλλά για τη συγγραφή μελέτης στη νεοελληνική φιλολογία Το Μορφωτικό Ίδρυμα Εθνικής Τραπέζης προκήρυξε το 2011 και απονέμει κάθε χρόνο βραβείο σε μεταπτυχιακό φοιτητή της νέας ελληνικής ή της συγκριτικής φιλολογίας, εγγεγραμμένον σε πρόγραμμα μεταπτυχιακών σπουδών σε πανεπιστημιακή σχολή στην Ελλάδα ή το εξωτερικό, για τη συγγραφή μιας μελέτης με […]