Third International Graduate Student Conference in Modern Greek Studies, on the theme of “Religion, Politics, and Society in Modern Greece

Ημερομηνία έναρξης: 03-05-2011

Ημερομηνία λήξης: 04-05-2011

Τόπος: Princeton

The Program in Hellenic Studies at Princeton University announces our third International Graduate Student Conference in Modern Greek Studies.

Submissions are invited from doctoral candidates in the final stages of their dissertation research who wish to present their work on any aspect or period of modern Greek religion, politics, and society. Comparative or interdisciplinary approaches are welcome. Papers should be in English, and must not exceed 30 minutes.

Please submit abstracts of approximately 350 words no later than March 11, 2011. All Greek words should be transliterated. Each abstract should be accompanied by a cover letter, including (i) a curriculum vitae; (ii) a brief statement how the proposed paper connects with the dissertation-in-progress; (iii) the applicant’s contact details (name, current affiliation, postal and e-mail addresses; tel. nos.); (iv) the names and e-mail addresses of two academic referees, including the dissertation supervisor and one other person familiar with the candidate’s current research.

Receipt of all submissions will be acknowledged, and the applicants will be notified by March 21, 2011, whether their submissions have been accepted. Participants will be expected to submit the full text of their papers by April 18, 2010. Papers will be precirculated among conference speakers, chairs, and respondents.

The Program in Hellenic Studies will cover the participants’ travel expenses to Princeton, and will offer shared (double-occupancy) accommodation (up to four nights), as well as meals on the days of the conference.

Submissions should be e-mailed to: and

(Submissions by fax or hard copy will not be accepted.)

Deadline: March 11, 2011


Program Committee

Othon Alexandrakis (Hellenic Studies)
Heath Cabot (Hellenic Studies)
Elizabeth Davis (Anthropology)
Karen Emmerich (Hellenic Studies)
Dimitri Gondicas (Classics and Hellenic Studies)
Molly Greene (History and Hellenic Studies)
Elektra Kostopoulou (Hellenic Studies)
Dimitris Kousouris (Hellenic Studies)
Marek Meško (Hellenic Studies)
Nikos Panou (Comparative Literature and Hellenic Studies)

Secretary to the Committee: Tuna Artun (History and Hellenic Studies)