Crisis, criticism and critique in contemporary greek studies

Ημερομηνία έναρξης: 06-12-2012

Ημερομηνία λήξης: 08-12-2012

Τόπος: University of Sidney

Ημερομηνία: 07.12.2012 – 09.12.2012

Τόπος: Sidney


Modern greek studies association of Australia and New Zealand and the department of Modern Greek, University of Sydney

11TH Biennal Conference, University of Sydney


Call for papers

Crisis, criticism and critique in contemporary greek studies 

The present crisis in Greece creates the presuppositions for a new critical approach to the accepted cultural orientation, self-awareness and social culture.

The profound impact of the crisis on all levels of contemporary Greek life has already generated a systematic critique of the overall structure of modern Greek state, historical consciousness and political order expressed in all forms of cultural production through literature,  arts, language studies, education and journalism.

The conference is dedicated to the exploration of the new cultural paradigm that is emerging for Greek studies and wants to investigate the parameters and the coordinates of the new critical self reflection that is likely to shape Greek studies in the near future.

Papers are invited to discuss, question and examine the revaluation process that is taking place, locate its focal points and analyse its premises and consequences.

Papers are expected to cover a wide area of studies, from politics, language, economy, tradition, education, social studies, literature, cinema, arts, history, cultural studies, gender studies, journalism, media and the blogosphere.

Special sessions are planned for specific events or areas of studies, such Cyprus, the European Union and the Balkans. Two parallel sessions are also planned; one on the Battle of Crete, convened by Dr Maria Hill and on the Legacies of Cornelius castoriadis, organised in collaboration with the  Australian Association of Cornelius Castoriadis’ Friends.


Deadline for the Submission of abstracts: April 30th, 2012


Organising Committee

A/Professor Vrasidas Karalis

Dr Anthony Dracopoulos

Dr Panayota Nazou